见解

©EDSA | Insights | Kids Discovery

近年来,玩具的年均销售增长额一直维持在16%。从电子游戏、玩偶及体育用具,到自行车、拼图与拼装套组,各式玩具不断涌现。眼下,全球进入了后疫情时代,父母们开始考虑将可支配收入花费在可供一家人进行休闲娱乐的家庭度假项目上——而孩子们的意愿很大程度上影响了度假目的地的最终选择。

包括迪士尼世界在内的主题公园,是全球最热门的旅游胜地,奥兰多的公园门票甚至提前几周或几个月就宣布销售一空。同样,像“大狼屋酒店”这样的水上乐园度假酒店,为吸引新客源,投资了数百万美元进行扩建。对于此类目的地,孩子们必然是度假计划中的关键决策者。面对逐渐常态化的几代同行的旅行方式,度假酒店必须保持其短期与长期竞争力,以满足不同年龄段顾客群的需求。

©EDSA | Insights | Dad and Kids in Sand

于是,酒店与娱乐空间的设计者,需要与终端用户一同(在某些时候,甚至要以超前的眼光先于用户)发展,预知“下一个前沿趋势”,并为不同类型的受众群体打造更加身临其境的多样化体验。目的地与活动必须通过精心策划的空间与贴心的功能搭配,为宾客持续带去惊喜与快乐。刺激与冒险性项目固然令人激动,但同时也要兼具能够启迪灵感的场景设置,让顾客在此得以放松身心,从而保持平衡。这对于营造丰富、立体的度假体验并留下与之相伴的美好回忆至关重要。如今,所有家庭都期待一场能够真正满足每一位成员的旅行,尤其是当每一位宾客、每一个家庭的喜好大相径庭的时候。

休闲与娱乐项目间的平衡理念同样影响了以成年人为主要受众群体的酒店品牌。就五星级度假酒店而言,例如一直以来以高端设施而著称的佛罗里达的博卡拉顿,最近与Itavi——儿童成长领域领导者,共同合作投资开发了一处儿童露营与户外游戏空间。与以往人们所熟知的庄重堂皇截然不同,酒店展现出了它的全新风貌:以拖船为主题的戏水池与滑梯面向所有顾客开放,并设置了适合不同年龄段孩子的游戏、手工及活动。功能策划上的细微差异,为成人与儿童群体营造出了不同的微观环境,赋予了他们个性化的度假体验。

©EDSA | Insights | Family Campingafrican american family having fun traveling and camping together in natural forest and park

除了为休闲与刺激项目打造相应场景,如今的度假体验还要能够兼顾所有年龄段并给游客留下美好的回忆。例如探险旅游、考察旅游与生态旅游,都鼓励各年龄段的人们置身户外、探索未知事物,成为了联结各世代的热门方式。很多传统酒店品牌甚至面向这一群体,开发了自己的子品牌。“迪士尼冒险之旅”就为人们提供了主题公园之外的另一种体验,围绕全新的地点量身打造独属于迪士尼的“奇妙瞬间”。

随着旅行者对于获取完整体验的坚持,该行业最终必然要采取更加明智的发展策略,兼顾不同年龄段的终端用户,通过更有意义且更可持续的方式,提升游客量并促进消费。尽管配套设施的类型还将持续开发,但是场地建造如何将父母、儿童、青少年,乃至祖父母的需求进行综合考量,并赋予他们平等的决策权,将成为通过促进家庭旅游持续创收的关键因素。

©EDSA | Insights | Pictures

Insights

©EDSA | Insights | Kids Discovery

In recent years, toy sales have increased at a consistent rate of 16 percent per annum. Everything from video games, dolls and sporting goods to bikes, puzzles and building sets surged in popularity. And now, with the world entering a post-pandemic era, parents are reallocating their disposable income towards experiences the entire family can enjoy together – and children have a large say in their vacation destinations.

Theme parks like Walt Disney World continue to be among the world’s most visited vacation hot spots, with the Orlando parks reporting full-capacity bookings for weeks or even months in advance. Likewise, waterpark resort brands like Great Wolf Lodge are attracting new crowds of their own with multi-million-dollar expansions. For these destinations and others like them, children are certainly key stakeholders in the vacation planning process. And, as multi-generational travel continues trending towards the norm, resorts must respond to the wants and needs of an all-ages clientele if they are to remain competitive for the short and long term.

©EDSA | Insights | Dad and Kids in Sand

As designers within the hospitality and entertainment space, this means working to evolve with (and in some cases, ahead of) end users, anticipating the ‘next frontier’ and creating ever-more immersive experiences with different nuances for a wide variety of audiences. Destinations and activities must continually surprise and delight guests with carefully curated spaces and a smart mix of amenities. Thrill and adventure are exciting, but they must be balanced with moments that inspire or offer time for relaxation. This is important for creating rich, multi-dimensional vacations and the memories that go along with them. Today’s family unit craves travel that authentically has something for everyone, especially when guest preferences vary widely from person to person and family to family.

Finding this equilibrium between leisure and play has also influenced adult-focused hospitality brands. Five-star resorts like The Boca Raton in Florida, which has historically geared their amenities towards high-end pursuits, recently invested in the development of a children’s camp and outdoor play space co-branded with child development leaders, Itavi. A tugboat-themed splash pad and slides are available to all guests, and a full schedule of age-appropriate games, crafts and activities add a new facet to the resort’s stately and storied reputation. A subtle distinction between adult and child-driven programming creates micro-environments for guests to build their own individual vacation roadmaps.

©EDSA | Insights | Family Camping

It isn’t simply a matter of offering opportunities for both leisure and excitement. Properties must also incorporate experiences that promote togetherness and enhance memory-making to deliver on today’s vacation expectations. Adventure tourism, expedition travel and eco-tourism, for instance, have all become popular ways to bridge the generation gap, as they encourage people of all ages to get outdoors and explore the unknown. A number of traditional hospitality brands have even developed sub-brands in order to serve this group. Adventures by Disney is one such offering, with outside-the-theme-park experiences, each tailored to deliver that familiar Disney ‘magic’ in all-new locations.

Ultimately, with travelers insisting on more holistic experiences, it is essential to make smart development moves that consider multi-generational end-users to boost visitation and on-property spending in ways that are significant and sustainable. Though the palette of amenities will continue to evolve, the ways in which properties bring together parents, children, teens and in many cases, grandparents, with equal decision-making power will be a key factor in ensuring togetherness remains a revenue-producing trend.